Ice Fishing

Often thinking about this tour. When visiting Riga, I decided to explore the way to the seaside by bike. Since the bike rentals were closed in February I went to the russian flea market and asked for advice. Since I did not intend to establish a new record, I was comfortable with an old street bike. In order to work on my orientation skills I did not use a map as always. At KM 12 I took the wrong route and had to turn around. Then I found a track leading me along the delta of the Daugova. AtI Vakarbuļļi at the end of Daugavgrīvas island I stopped and had a chat with an sculpturer, who told me about his projects.. From there I continued my journey walking to Jurmala, a wonderful seabath with many russian inhabitants.On may way back I was impressed by the many ice fishers at the river of Lielupe. A very old tradition of the country.

Paul Jaunzens, Vakarbuļļi

Paul Jaunzens, Vakarbuļļi

Ice Fishing, Jurmala

Ice Fishing, Jurmala

Riga, Cycling

Riga, Cycling

Jurmala, Hiking

Jurmala, Hiking

One thought on “Ice Fishing

  1. Pingback: Miracles. – Yourny

Leave a Reply

